About The Prize

The Scottish Cancer Foundation invites nominations for the 2021 Prize which will be for an individual or organisation that has made an outstanding contribution to the maintenance and/or recovery of cancer services during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Applicants may be nominated or self-nominated. The applicant(s) must be living and working in Scotland at the time of the award. The prize is open to anyone and is not restricted to health care professionals.  Their work must be of direct relevance to Scotland, although evidence of wider impact would be welcomed.   The application should provide an objective assessment of the impact of the work.

The Prize, up to £10,000, is supported by the Grant Simpson Trust. It is accompanied by the Evans Forrest Medal, named in recognition of the founders of the Scottish Cancer Foundation.

Prize Winners

Dr Katie Robb
Dr Katie Robb
Professor Malcolm Dunlop
Professor Tessa Holyoake
Professor Tessa Holyoake


Dr Campbell stood out to the Board of Directors due to her contribution to cancer  screening, leading a series of research studies which have improved the understanding and effectiveness of screening programmes both in the UK and overseas. In addition, Dr Campbell’s work has sought to understand the factors that can improve participation in screening and help to identify the disease at its earliest, treatable stage.

Read More


Dr Katie Robb has won the prestigious 2018 Scottish Cancer Foundation Prize. Dr Robb is based at the University of Glasgow's Institute of Health and Wellbeing and her research focuses on improving the earlier diagnosis of cancer and reducing inequalities for cancer patients. Dr Robb plans to use the £10,000 prize money to accelerate her research to help improve access to cancer screening and reduce the burden of cancer both locally and nationally.

Read more


Professor Malcolm Dunlop of the MRC Human Genetics Unit, within the Institute of Genetics and Molecular Medicine at the University of Edinburgh, has led research which has identified a number of genes that are implicated in the development of bowel cancer. He plans to use the £10,000 prize money to investigate new drug and nutrient approaches that may reduce the risk of bowel cancer developing.

Read more


An anti-tobacco campaigner who has played a leading role in reducing the harm caused by cigarettes in Scotland has been honoured by the Scottish Cancer Foundation. Sheila Duffy, the chief executive of ASH Scotland, is this year’s recipient of Scottish Cancer Foundation prize which recognises individuals who have made an outstanding contribution in the fight against cancer.

Read more


Our inaugural prize was won by Professor Tessa Holyoake, a cancer specialist who has made Glasgow into one of the world’s leading centres for leukaemia research.

The work carried out by Professor Tessa Holyoake, Director of the Paul O’Gorman Leukaemia Research Centre at the University of Glasgow, is offering hope of new treatments for a condition which has already seen dramatic improvements in survival in recent years.

Read more

Press Coverage

The Herald
Scots researcher will use £10,000 prize money to help fund bowel cancer research (20/11/2017)

View Article

BBC News
Award for Glasgow cancer specialist (16/11/2015)

View Article

The Times
Glasgow specialist wins inaugural cancer prize (16/11/2015)

View Article

The National
Professor Tessa Holyoake honoured for turning Glasgow into leading leukaemia research centre (17/11/2015)

View Article

Glasgow Evening Times
Glasgow cancer doctor wins top award (17/11/2015)

View Article

Submit A Nomination

The Scottish Cancer Foundation invites nominations for the 2021 Prize.